Season’s successes celebrated by club

AWARDS were presented to competition winners at Steyning Camera Club’s annual meeting.

Celebrating the season’s successes, the meeting, on May 22, included some nibbles before presentations by president Penny Richardson.

The club runs a series of competitions for open print, digital projected image and set subjects throughout the season, from September to April.

Member Ken Woods said: “This year has, as usual, has seen some strong images being shown to the club and thoroughly appreciated by all.

“These images are then appraised by a collection of external judges, who provide the benefit of their wisdom, and score each image to provide the basis of competition in various categories.”

In the B group, the open print competition (Penfold Cup) was won by Lyn Seamons, who snapped a series of magnificent wildlife shots, and the digital image competition (Viewfinder Trophy) saw Sara Proctor triumph with some strong images. The B group enprint competition was won by Joe Cox.

In the A group, the aligned open print competition (Matanle Shield) was won by Sue Lambert, in her first season in the A group, with her super travel images.

Peter Merrick prevailed in the digital image competition (West Sussex Gazette) with some 
highly-vibrant images.

The set subject competition (Lewis Cup) saw success for Ken Woods, and a one-off panel competition (Pierre Cup) was won by Gary Levett with a super panel of the Goodwood Revival.

The end-of-year competitions were won by Mike Williams in the print competition and Maggie Tillotson in the digital image category.

Two President’s Awards are also presented. The President’s Meritorious Bowl for praiseworthy effort went to Lyn Seamons, and the President’s Meritorious Shield for the most improved photographer went to Sara Proctor.

Mr Woods added: “The club also had some success in external competition, sharing the Regnum Crouch Shield with Chichester Camera Club, which was gratefully received by our outgoing chairman, Gail Bell, to whom the club extend their warmest gratitude.”