Lindfield C enjoy victory in Sayers Cup final

Henfield C (left) and Lindfield C with referee Roy Tucknott
Henfield C (left) and Lindfield C with referee Roy Tucknott

The Sayers Cup Final held at the Clayton and Keymer Royal British Legion saw Lindfield C securing a 3-1 victory after going behind in the opening frame to Henfield C.

James Gilmore commenced with a fluent potting display to put Lindfield’s Dennis Wood under pressure, however, Wood responded to close the gap but was unable to stop Gilmore moving on to win the frame 64-32.

For over six decades Ray Hewitt has performed on the green baize for Lindfield and he showed a determined Simon Farrell that he had not lost his magic touch with the cue ball to win 56-34. His colleague Andy Cornell was in top form, although Sean Eggleton dug in to contain his opponent, he was unable to avoid losing out 24-55.

Neil Farrell came to the table knowing he had to be on top of his game to gain the equaliser for his team, he was unable to do so as Paul Markham powered to a 60-20 win to give Lindfield a 3-1 victory.

Henfield’s Neil Johnson and his opponent Alan Tyler were the unlucky players not to get to the table, the match was well marshalled by referee Roy Tucknott.