Lindfield bounce back from last week’s defeat

Lindfield seconds
Lindfield seconds

Lindfield bounced back from last week’s defeat to Middleton by beating Worthing in, by this season’s standards, a relatively low scoring game.

Batting first, Lindfield opener Tom Howard got Lindfield off to a positive start with 22 before he fell and was replaced by Rippon, who then fell, leaving Lindfield at 62-2, with Geoffrey Lawrence on 23*. Shane Wilson Yelverton fell 4 balls after Rippon for a 0, and Thom Brown followed as Lindfield hovered at 99-4. Geoffrey Lawrence fell for 44 as Lindfield, at 102-5, required a boost. Vincent Lawson’s 27 from 37 provided this, and Phil Weir’s 21 saw Lindfield to 180ao. Worthing’s Benn Challen finished with 4 wickets as they used 7 bowlers.

Worthing’s openers responded well, putting on 51 for the opening wicket, claimed by Michael Rippon, who successfully took another. Aggio-Brewe took another wicket as Worthing slipped to 56-3, but Nick Ballamy’s 56 took Worthing to 130-6. However, Shane Wilson Yelverton tore through the bottom order as he finished with 6/41, as Worthing collapsed to 151ao.

Lindfield CC 2nd XI v Burgess HIll CC 2nd XI

SCL 2nd XI Div 3 (East)

Lindfield won by 19 runs

Lindfield continued their unstoppable form to win the Division with a game to spare as they overcame a dogged game against Burgess Hill. Having been put to the test last week against Glynde, Lindfield required only 8 points from this game to finish top of the division.

They got that by posting 205ao in their first innings, with 20s from Joe Newcombe, Will Light and Dom Reason, before the middle order all chipped with useful scores. Ruhul Choudhury top scored with 31. Daniel Rapson and Stephen Cromb took 3 wickets each, backed up by a couple each for Dan Maskell and Robert Barnes.

Hill’s reply started awfully, as Scott Pedley removed 3 of the top 4 for ducks. At 1/3, Hill required Andrew Davies to knuckle down, and he did so with 80. He was well supported by Adam Booth (27) and Paul John (37), and Hill would have hoped the pair could continue. Sadly for them, they fell 20 runs short, as Henry Fowler and Michael Hewett took wickets to seal the game for Lindfield.

Lindfield CC 3rd XI v Copthorne CC 1st XI

MSCL Div 3

Lindfield won by 5 wickets

The Swans also gained promotion with a victory over Copthorne. In a low-scoring affair, Lindfied were set 126 to chase as they bowled out Copthorne in 34 overs. Copthorne’s Chrisopher Ross (26) and Stewart Cook (28) were the only notable scorers, as everyone else chipped in low totals. Luke Sowton took 6 wickets as he wrapped up a successful season with the ball.

Lindfield’s first wicket fell at 30 runs, as Mike Newcombe went as the first of Ben Cook’s five wickets. Sean Sage battled on to finish with 29, but Rob Minter’s 54 was pivotal to Lindfield clinching victory and finishing 132/5 before the celebrations started.

Lindfield CC 4th XI v Dormansland CC 2nd XI

MSCL Div 4

Lindfield lost by 139 runs

Lindfield secured their space in next year’s Division 4, but with difficulty as they lost against then-promoted Dormansland. Dormansland batted first and Ben Salter (26) and Phil Beeson (36) got the hosts off to a flier. James Scott’s 71 from 79 balls put Lindfield to the sword as he made the bowlers suffer. He batted through, being supported by Iain Sharp (20) and Stuart le Boutillier (27). Lindfield’s Dan Booth, Tony Pugh and David Lea took 2 wickets each. Dormansland finished 207/8 declared.

Lindfield’s response was formed of a decent opening stand; 24 and 17 to Stewart Hornby and Lloyd Fielder, before the rest of the batsmen all fell for single figure scores to the bowling of Tim Wise and Alex Hale. Tom Bowden also took 2 wickets as Lindfield’s batting struggled.