Burgess Hill Town pick up more awards at the Ryman League’s Awards Dinners

Burgess Hill FC at the awards
Burgess Hill FC at the awards

Burgess Hill Town FC’s incredible season was rounded off in style at the annual Ryman League’s Awards Dinner on Saturday night.

A 21 strong party from the Hillians were present at the Hilton Hotel at Wembley where the Ryman South Champions picked up three more awards to go with the League title and also had 5 players selected in the Ryman South Team of the Season.

The Club won the Division’s Fair Play Award after a well disciplined season and picked up the Divisions Team of the Year Performance of the Year with the 1-0 victory over Conference Side Aldershot Town in the FA Trophy.

Manager Ian Chapman deservedly picked up the Ryman South Manager of the Season for 2014/2015 after masterminding the championship win and also guiding the Hillians on some great Cup runs. He had already won the Nicholas Rowe Tailoring Manager of the Month awards on four occasions throughout the season.

Five players were selected in the Ryman Division One South Team of the Season which is selected by all the managers of the division’s sides.

Three of the back four came from the Hill with Sam Fisk, Will Miles and Andy Pearson, who won all three awards at the Hillians end of Season presentation evening got the nod, with skipper Darren Budd, his second year in a row in the team of the season, and vice-captain Joe Keehan picked in midfield.

Tonight has been an amazing evening for our Club and everyone involved

John Rattle

On the evening General Manager John Rattle said “Tonight has been an amazing evening for our Club and everyone involved. We have enjoyed an incredible season - a season that will never be forgotten”.

“It goes without saying that Ian and his management team have assembled a special squad of players who have achieved things this season that most players don’t achieve in a career. I would like to single out Darren Budd who has been at the club for three seasons and has grown into the role of not just being a captain on the pitch but a ‘true’ Club Captain in every sense.”

“It also goes without saying that in Ian Chapman we have a special manager who wants success for this club and has worked tirelessly over the past 3 seasons to get us to where we are now. The Chairman and everyone at the club deserve this success but will not be complacent and will strive to make the town proud of this football club in years to come.”

Full Ryman Team of the Season: GK - Christopher Tardiff (Guernsey). Defence - Sam Fisk, Will Miles, Andy Pearson (all Burgess Hill Town), Sam Cooper (Merstham). Midfield – Joe Keehan, Darren Budd (both Burgess Hill Town), Wayne Wilson (Faversham), Fabio Saraiva (Merstham). Strikers – Chris Smith (South Park), Ian Draycott (Folkestone Invicta).

Hillians preparations now turn to the first ever season in the Ryman Premier. The Hillians have lined up to big friendlies against Northampton Town (11th July) and Crawley Town (15th July). Full list can be found on www.bhtfc.co.uk

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make this website your homepage

2 Like our Facebook page at facebook.com/pages/Sport-Sussex

3 Follow us on Twitter @SportSussex

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!