Ardingly Rowing Club recognised for second consecutive year

For the second consecutive year the Volunteers at Ardingly Rowing Club have recognised by British Rowing, the National Governing Body of their sport.

Tuesday, 8th December 2015, 6:34 am
Members of Ardingly Rowing Club collect their award

This year the Junior Squad Coaching Team were awarded Coaching Team of the Year. This was in recognition of the time and energy and effort they put in to run a squad of 60 young people from 24 educational establishments and with a varied level of rowing ability from absolute beginners to finalists at the GB National Rowing Championships.

Five Coaches represented the team at the Awards Ceremony – David Reed, Mark Abbott, Derek Riches, Wolfgang Weis and David Clark.

Unable to attend were the other team members Mostyn Field, Carlos Scovell, Robert Simpson and Colin Barrett – aided by parents and other adult Club Members.

Club President, Derek Riches, said: “This is a great honour for today’s team and for all the Coaches who have invested in the future of young rowers in the past.”

Fittingly the award was presented by Helene Dyson, Paralympic and World Rowing Champion, who started her rowing career at Ardingly.

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make this website your homepage

2 Like our Facebook page at

3 Follow us on Twitter @SportSussex

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!