West Sussex County Council election candidates in Mid Sussex revealed

The West Sussex County Council candidates standing for election in divisions across the Mid Sussex district in May have been revealed today (Friday April 9).

Friday, 30th April 2021, 4:55 pm
Voters will head to the polls on Thursday May 6.

The majority of incumbents are standing again apart from Andrew Lea (Lindfield and High Weald) and Heidi Brunsdon (Imberdown) who were both kicked out of the Conservative group in 2019 for not supporting then leader Louise Goldsmith during a vote of no confidence.

Long-time Worth Forest councillor Bill Acraman is also stepping down.

Polling day is Thursday May 6, the same as the Sussex Police and Crime Commissioner election.

There is also a Mid Sussex District Council by-election for the Copthorne and Worth ward.

The following candidates are standing for West Sussex County Council in the Mid Sussex district (incumbents are marked in bold):

Burgess Hill East: Richard Cherry (Lib Dem), Terence Gibbs (Reform UK), Sue Jex (Labour), Anne Jones (Conservative) and Ann Pearce (Green).

Burgess Hill North: Andrew Barrett-Miles (Conservative), Stuart Condie (Lib Dem), Bob Foster (Green) and Pam Haigh (Labour).

Cuckfield and Lucastes: Pete Bradbury (Conservative), Paul Kenny (Labour), Allan Murray (Green), Richard Rap (Reform UK) and Alison Rees (Lib Dem).

East Grinstead Meridian: Liz Bennett (Conservative), Andrew Lane (Lib Dems), Alexandra Langridge (Green), Norman Mockford (Independent) and David Wilbraham (Labour).

East Grinstead South and Ashurst Wood: Laura Buonocore (Green), Amanda Clark (Lib Dem), Dave Macquire (Reform UK), Stephen Pritchard (Labour) and Jacquie Russell (Conservative).

Hassocks and Burgess Hill South: Fred Burns (Labour), Kirsty Lord (Lib Dem) and Alexander Simmons (Conservative).

Haywards Heath East: Stephen Hillier (Conservative), Deanna Nicholson (Green), George Smith (Lib Dems) and Richard Whiting (Labour and Co-op).

Haywards Heath Town: Stephanie Inglesfield (Lib Dem), Jonathan Lea (The Democratic Network), Michael Miller (Green), Greg Mountain (Labour) and Sujan Wickremaratchi (Conservative).

Hurstpierpoint and Bolney: Nick Dearden (Green), Joy Dennis (Conservative), Fiona Jackson (Lib Dem), Baron Von Thunderclap (Official Monster Raving Loony Party) and Alison Whelan (Labour).

Imberdown: Daniel Everett (Labour), Ian Gibson (Independent), Barry Noldart (For Britain Movement) and Norman Webster (Conservative).

Lindfield and High Weald: Anne-Marie Cooke (Lib Dem), Garry Wall (Conservative), Tim Weekes (Labour) and David Woolley (Green).

Worth Forest: Jenny Edwards (Green), Bruce Forbes (Conservative), Dominic Moorhouse (Reform UK), Carole Steggles (Independent) and Cavan Wood (Lib Dems).