General Election 2015: Conservatives win, but who’s lost out?

Three party leaders who quit today - Ed Miliband, Nick Clegg and Nigel Farage
Three party leaders who quit today - Ed Miliband, Nick Clegg and Nigel Farage

So it’s official, with​ ​​​646 of 650 seats declared,​ ​the Conservatives have an outright majority with 327 MPs, Labourare on 232​​, SNP 56, Lib Dems 8, DUP 8, others 15.

But the results have cost three leaders their position:

Nigel Farage failed to win the South Thanet seat, and resigned as Ukip leader - read more at

Nick Clegg resigned as leader as number of Liberal Democrats MPs Lib Dems was reduced from 57 to eight.

Ed Miliband later resigned as Labour leader.

SNP’s 20-year-old Mhairi Black became the youngest MP in the country since 1667 in Paisley and was one of 56 SNP MPs, read more at

Mhairi is one of over 180 elected women MPs, up from 148 in 2010, a record number of female representatives.

66.1% of the electorate turned out to vote.

And this uncanny prediction of the UK’s new electoral map was tweeted on Thursday morning, involving Maggie Simpson:

In other news:

In Peterborough, Re-elected MP Stewart Jackson made a controversial victory speech - video

In Boston, blind 104-year-old was determined not to miss her chance to vote in the General Election - video.

A Doncaster woman took her pet lamb to the polling station, see video - did he vote Ewe-kip?

There were reports that a ‘Cannabis Is Safer Than Alcohol’ candidate was arrested for drug possession.

And the hashtag #DogsAtPollingStations was very popular on Twitter:

High profile MPs who lost their seat:

Respect Party MP George Galloway lost in Bradford West.

Labour Shadow chancellor Ed Balls lost after a recountread more at|read more}.

Former Lib Dem Business Secretary Vince Cable lost the Twickenham seat he has held for 18 years.

One of UKIP’s two MPs, Mark Reckless lost in Rochester and Strood.

Lib Dem cabinet member Danny Alexander and Charles Kennedy lost out to the SNP.

Scottish Labour leader Jim Murphy was also ousted by SNP opposition.