David’s Rocky road to first win

The annual Rocky 3 Reds Trophy held at the Clayton and Keymer Royal British Legion saw David Page in top form when he outwitted Gary Goodman in a black ball finale to write his name on the trophy for the first time.

There was much enthusiasm and interest in entering this year’s tournament, with Jenny Waterman leading the way to take on the lads.

She lost in a close encounter with Lawrence Cowley-Stein but was presented with an award for showing true spirit and supporting the annual event, which this year raised £38 that will be donated to the RBL poppy Appeal Fund.

Results were - preliminary rd: Lawrence Cowley-Stein bt Jenny Waterman; Warren Marshall bt Fred Weatherill; John Jenner bt Dave Chewter; Dan Norkett bt Bernie Taylor. 1st rd: Dave Robinson bt Dan Cowley-Stein; Anthony Flynn bt Simon Vincent; David Page bt Roy Tucknott; Don Miller w/o; Barry Williams bt Lawrence Cowley-Stein; Mark Coles bt Warren Marshall; Gary Goodman bt Peter Mann; John Jenner bt Dan Norkett. Quarter final: Anthony Flynn bt Dave Robinson; David Page bt Don Miller; Mark Coles bt Barry Williams; Gary Goodman bt John Jenner. Semi final: David Page bt Anthony Flynn; Gary Goodman bt Mark Coles.

Sayers Cup quarter finals (to be played Wednesday January 29): Lindfield B v Hassocks F; Henfield B v Lindfield C; Hassocks G v Ansty E; Scaynes Hill A v Henfield C. Semi finals at Clayton on February 26.

Wednesday Shield quarter finals (to be played on Wednesday January 29): MSCC A v MSCC B; Clayton E v Scaynes Hill B; Hurst B v Clayton F; Ansty D v Hassocks E. Semi final venue to be confirmed for February 26.

Harper Cup quarter finals (to be played on Thursday January 30): Hassocks B v Hurst A; Horsted Keynes v USC B; Clayton A v Lindfield A; Hassocks A v Balcombe A.

Harper Shield semi finals (at United Services Club on Thursday January 30: Ardingly, Clayton B, Clayton C, Franklands Vill.