Birthday boy Spires seals road series crown for Westbourne

Westbourne Motorsport
Westbourne Motorsport
Have your say

Haywards Heath motor racing team Westbourne Motorsport is celebrating this week after driver Anton Spires (Milton Keynes) secured the 2014 Michelin Clio Cup Road Series championship title on Sunday, 31st August, at Snetterton 300 Circuit – and all on Spires’ 22nd birthday!

Having won round nine on Saturday, 30th August, the Westbourne driver only really had to line-up for the start of Sunday’s race to secure the crown but he utterly dominated the encounter. Reeling off a series of fastest laps, he claimed the best of the race on the eighth tour which was just a fraction outside his Road Series lap record from the previous day’s race.

Anton Spires winning at Snetterton

Anton Spires winning at Snetterton

“It’s fantastic to win the championship and I’m really pleased with how me and Westbourne have progressed throughout the year”, said the inaugural Michelin Clio Cup Road Series Champion, “They have given me a really good car, a great package, so huge thanks to them for all of their hard work.

“From here I’d like to progress through the ladder of Renault Clios, so the next step is to try and find the budget to move into the Race Series next year. It’s a case of going back, trying to find business partners, sponsorship and stuff like that – the natural procedure really.”

Croft Circuit in North Yorkshire will host the final two rounds of the Michelin Clio Cup Road Series over the weekend 20th/21st September. This coming weekend, 6th/7th September, Westbourne’s James Colburn (Worthing) and Devon Modell (Maidstone) will be back in action in the Courier Connections Renault UK Clio Cup, a key feeder series for the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship.

Along with headline sponsors Michelin and Protyre, the Clio Cup Series is additionally supported by Ferodo and Safety Devices.

Provisional 2014 Michelin Clio Cup Road Series Driver Standings (after Rd10 inc. drop score):

Champion: Anton Spires, 296pts; 2nd Nic Harrison, 215pts; 3rd Sarah Franklin, 197pts